Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) and guard Chris Paul (3) celebrate the victory against the Philadelphia 76ers at Footprint Center. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports.
Phoenix Suns guard Devin Booker (1) and guard Chris Paul (3) celebrate the victory against the Philadelphia 76ers at Footprint Center. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports.

2023 NBA Championship Odds: Phoenix Suns Become New Title Favorites

It has been a month since WynnBET first released its 2023 NBA Championship odds, but we have already seen plenty of movement in this market over that span. Such is life when betting on this league.

No offseason can compare to the NBA, where stars frequently change teams and alter the landscape of the league. This summer, Kevin Durant is shaking things up by requesting a trade from the Brooklyn Nets. Where will he end up? What will happen to Kyrie Irving? The answers to these questions will have a drastic impact on the betting odds.

But we have already seen plenty of movement around the league following a wild start to free agency. As a result, it seems like a good time to see where things stand in the NBA championship market as of Friday, July 15.

Remember to view our sportsbook promotions for more details on new offers when betting online.

2022-23 NBA Championship Odds

Odds as of Friday, July 15:

  • Phoenix Suns +550

  • Boston Celtics +600

  • Golden State Warriors +650

  • Los Angeles Clippers +650

  • Milwaukee Bucks +700

  • Los Angeles Lakers +1200

  • Miami Heat +1200

  • Philadelphia 76ers +1400

  • Denver Nuggets +2000

  • Memphis Grizzlies +2000

  • Brooklyn Nets +2200

  • Dallas Mavericks +2200

  • Toronto Raptors +2500

  • Minnesota Timberwolves +3000

  • New Orleans Pelicans +4000

  • Atlanta Hawks +5000

  • Chicago Bulls +5000

  • New York Knicks +7500

  • Portland Trail Blazers +7500

  • Charlotte Hornets +10000

  • Cleveland Cavaliers +10000

  • Utah Jazz +10000

  • Detroit Pistons +25000

  • Oklahoma City Thunder +25000

  • Washington Wizards +25000

  • Houston Rockets +50000

  • Indiana Pacers +50000

  • Orlando Magic +50000

  • Sacramento Kings +50000

  • San Antonio Spurs +50000

Phoenix Suns Become New Title Favorites

When WynnBET opened this market, the Golden State Warriors were the betting favorites with a price of +550. The Warriors have won four titles over the last eight years, and always figure to be in the mix as long as Stephen Curry is leading the way.

But the Phoenix Suns have since taken their throne, at least from a betting perspective. Phoenix, which opened at +1000 to win the title, is now priced at +550 to capture the first championship in franchise history.

The Suns ascended to contender status during the 2020-21 postseason, when they made it all the way to the NBA Finals before losing to the Milwaukee Bucks. Phoenix answered that postseason run by going 64-18 last year and claiming the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference.

Big man Deandre Ayton will be starting the 2022-23 campaign with the Suns after they matched his four-year, $133 million max offer sheet from the Indiana Pacers on Thursday. Ayton, Devin Booker and Chris Paul make up the core that has been responsible for this recent stretch by the Suns.

Ayton had been linked to potential trade packages for Kevin Durant, who reportedly put the Suns as a preferred destination. Phoenix won't be able to move Ayton until at least Jan. 15 after matching this offer, however. But the potential trade, along with the amount of action pouring in on this team, was more than enough to put Phoenix atop the betting board.

“Obviously the Kevin Durant trade news at the time played a factor in us moving Suns to begin with, after playing musical chairs with a few teams at the top of the list (Warriors and Celtics specifically). We took a majority of action on the Suns already that got us to move them to the favorite.”

— WynnBET Sr. Trader Motoi Pearson

Recent NBA Champions

  • 2022: Golden State Warriors

  • 2021: Milwaukee Bucks

  • 2020: Los Angeles Lakers

  • 2019: Toronto Raptors

  • 2018: Golden State Warriors

  • 2017: Golden State Warriors

  • 2016: Cleveland Cavaliers

  • 2015: Golden State Warriors

  • 2014: San Antonio Spurs

  • 2013: Miami Heat

  • 2012: Miami Heat

  • 2011: Dallas Mavericks

  • 2010: Los Angeles Lakers

Click to view our Accessibility Policy or contact us with accessibility related questions